How to Share a Private YouTube Video 2020?

Upload and Share a Private YouTube Video

When you upload your video to YouTube, you can decide whether your video is public, unlisted, or private.

  • If your video is public, it can be viewed by anyone who visits YouTube.
  • When it comes to unlisted videos, they won’t show up on YouTube and search results, but those who have the link can see it.
  • When you share a private video, you and the users you choose can only see it.

Here we’ll show you how to share YouTube private videos and change the privacy settings for the videos you’ve already shared to make them private. Private, unlisted and scheduled videos on YouTube all serve a different but important purpose. Knowing why and when you can use these types of videos can benefit you and your business.

Steps to Upload Private YouTube Video

Follow these steps to upload and share private videos:

Step 1

Go to Youtube

How to Upload Youtube Video
Step 2

In the top right corner, click Create/Or click on your profile and select YouTube Studio.

How to Upload Youtube Video
How to Upload Youtube Video
Step 3

Click Upload

How to Upload Youtube Video
Step 4

Next, select the file to upload, or drag and drop video files. 

How to Upload Youtube Video
Step 5

Once you upload the video then fill in the details you want to, click on Visibility then select Private option, save it & your video is good to go!

How to Upload Youtube Video
Step 6

To share your video, Go to Videos from the left vertical bar of options, then click on the private video you want to share.

How to Upload Youtube Video
Step 7

Click on the 3 dots in the right then select Share privately.

How to Upload Youtube Video
How to Upload Youtube Video
Step 8

A new window opens; enter the email address of the people you want to share the video with then save and go back to YouTube Studio. 

How to Upload Youtube Video

Note: Invitees must have an active Google Account to view the video. If an invitee has multiple Google accounts, he/she must be signed in to the account that you shared with to view the video. Private videos do not appear in video recommendations, search results, or the uploader’s Video Tab. Channel subscribers do not receive a notification when a private video is uploaded. If one of the invited uploaders tries to share the video with friends, it doesn’t matter – only the invitee can see the video.

Steps to Change Visibility Settings to Private for The Videos You Have Already Shared

If you have shared a video previously which is public, you can always change the settings and make it private/visible only for a limited audience. Public video you uploaded will become a private video, only you and the people you select will be able to see it. Here is how you can do that:

Step 1
Step 2

Find the video you want to change

Step 3

Next, click on the option where it shows Public.

How to share private Youtube Video
Step 4

In the drop-down menu, select Private.

How to share private Youtube Video
Step 5

At the end, just click Save changes.

How to share private Youtube Video

You can change the settings again anytime, and your private video will become public, just follow the same steps, select Public instead of Private from the drop-down menu.

Other YouTube Video Settings

Family Content

Sharing videos is a powerful way to cherish memories of your loved ones. Your child’s first step, a weekly check-in, or family vacation shots – you want to share these milestones, but not with the world. Private videos are a great way to ensure that only the right people can see these precious moments.

Organizational Internal Uses

Many larger companies use video as an effective training tool to exchange new company policies or even provide updates or congratulations. Using the private video setting ensures that internal messages and content remain internal. This also means that a company can create an entire internal video library to help employees grow or change roles in the organization.

Online Resumes and Portfolios

Video resumes have become increasingly popular in recent years as more and more applicants try to stand out from the crowd. With private videos, the user can upload their video resume to YouTube and only make it available to potential employers.

If you use YouTube to share these video resumes, your prospective employer doesn’t need to download large video files. He can simply click a link in your online resume. and of course, there are no problems with file formats.

As a videographer, an online portfolio is the key to winning new customers. However, your earlier customers may not have opted out of sharing videos, or some of the videos may contain certain sensitive topics. By uploading the portfolio as a private video on YouTube, they can share it with potential customers while avoiding unwanted comments and confidentiality issues.

Unlisted

YouTube’s UNLISTED video option allows users to switch between public and private settings. Unlisted videos can be viewed and shared by anyone with the video link, including those who don’t have a Google account

This means that unlisted videos won’t appear in search results, on a user’s Video tab, in a subscriber’s feed, or in suggestions. However, the video can still be seen by anyone who encounters the link. In fact, there are entire websites that list unlisted YouTube videos. Another note: YouTube treats unlisted videos like public videos in a variety of ways. The video may be flagged for inappropriate content, and uploaders must avoid using copyrighted audio or video.

Many people are still confused about the benefits of unlisted videos. We are here to point out some of them.

On Your Website

Do you run a website or blog? Do you occasionally embed videos on your website? You may want to keep the content exclusively for this platform. In this case, unlisted videos are a good option. You can still upload the videos to YouTube, host them, and then embed them on your website, but they won’t appear on your YouTube page.

Clean up Your YouTube Page

You’re trying to clean up the content you’ve posted on YouTube over the years – we understand! Many users started posting on the platform at a young age and use it well into adulthood. If you want to make sure that anyone who has shared or embedded any of your videos still has access, but you want to remove their visibility in your channel, then change it to an unlisted setting.

Measurement

Videos that are not listed are a great way to collect a small selection of responses or to ensure that a video already contains positive comments before it is made available to the general public. They are perfect for measuring responses to tutorial videos or sharing music videos with fans first.

Scheduled

If you work in social media or in marketing, you know that content planning is of immense strategic importance! Publishing information has a huge impact on who sees your content – certain times of day and days of the week are definitely more ideal than others.

You are probably already planning tweets and Facebook posts. Did you know, however, that you can also plan to publish videos on YouTube? If you don’t do this yet, you have to do it. Planning can be done on YouTube itself or on a social media distribution platform like Hootsuite.

Summary

As more and more people switch to mobile surfing, videos are increasingly the most interesting content on the web … But only a few platforms can offer what YouTube has to offer – an audience made up of more than a fifth of the world’s population!

youtube video settings

YouTube offers many great ways to share your videos. Whether you’re planning to list them as public, list them as private, or make sure they’re not listed – it’s time to post!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *